Wiring Loom

1938 P2 14

Wiring Loom

Post by 1938 P2 14 » Wed Feb 04, 2015 9:17 pm

4 Years ago I was trying to remove my dashboard and found all the terminals on the clocks etc would not undo. This was the best news as the wiring was crumbling as it is VIR and I honestly thought if have not found this it would have caught fire sooner or later.Anyway as I now don't have a full time job I am thinking of buying or making a new harness,I was an aircraft wiring technician at Bae/BAC. Has anyone replaced there own? Iain

GOY189

Re: Wiring Loom

Post by GOY189 » Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:22 pm

They are available from Autosparks of Long Eaton, who will install extra wires for flashing indicators etc. If memory serves, they are in 3 pieces. The main loom, the feed for semaphore arms and interior light that feeds down the nearside screen pillar and the horn wiring. Installing fuses for each circuit is recommended in line or in a block and high current drain items should be fed via a relay.

Hope this helps

BTW what is VIR?

Mike

Chris C

Post by Chris C » Thu Feb 05, 2015 9:16 am

Last winter, I fitted an Autosparks loom to my 1939 - 14 saloon, it cost £250, money well spent.
http://www.autosparks.co.uk/product_inf ... ts_id=4623
It came in 4 sections, rear loom, front loom + headlamp loom, dashboard loom and roof loom.
At no extra cost, they also included extra wires in the loom for flashing indicators, high level
brake light, power socket under dashboard (these were all at my request. Everything fitted
exactly, all I needed to do on some wire ends was to attach the correct terminal.
They are very helpful @ Autosparks with any queries (speak to Debbie).

The wiring diagrams are all available in the P2 Workshop Manual, all the wiring loom colours were
correct to type on Autosparks loom. I only had one problem, the wiring diagram in the P2 Manual is
produced by Lucas. Their version of left and right side of the vehicle is opposite to what you would